The year I was born

 

1985, the year I was born

 

I was born in Cape Verde on 22nd March 1985. My mother came to Portugal. I stayed with my father, my brothers and my sisters in Cape Verde.

 

Politics

 In January 28, in Hollywood, California, the charity single “We are the world” was recorded by the USA for Africa. The enormous success “Do they know it’s Christmas?”

was recorded by Band Aid in Britain to raise money to combat the ongoing famine in Ethiopia.

 

Mikhail Gorbachev became General Secretary of the Soviet Communist and de facto leader of Soviet Union.

 

 Times Man of the Year was Deng Xiao Ping, leader of communist China.

 

Science, Technology

 

John Hendricks launched the Discovery channel in the United States.

 

The computer game Tetris was released.

 

Dr. Michael Brown and Dr. Joseph Goldstein won Nobel Prize in physiology or Medicine.

 

Entertainment

 

Money for Nothing, by Dire Straits, ‘I want to know what love is’, by Foreigner and ‘Crazy for you’, by Madonna were popular.

 

 Hollywood Oscars for Best actor went to: William Hurt, Kiss of the Spiderwoman.

 

Celestina Fernandes , EFA B3C

Deixe uma Resposta

